Skip to content

What other MUDS have you played?

Comments

• Bandus said:
    TextWench said:
    I started playing a MUD-type game in the early 90s via local BBS. I have no idea what iit was called, but it was a space MUD with planet/resource development and space combat. 

Trade Wars, perhaps?
    Entirely possible. That sounds familiar. At the best of times, my memory most resembles a spastic butterfly. 

• My first MUD was AvalonRPG maybe 15 years ago, that lead to Achaea and IRE. I've played all the IRE games but became the most heavily invested, both with resources and attention, in MKO. I tried a few other MUDs, Armageddon and a WoT Mud where I played a Gleeman who couldn't sing. All the other suck though, in my opinion, like others I've become spoiled by the layout and cleanness of IRE's MUDs
    Peace is a lie, there is only passion.
    Through passion, I gain strength.
    Through strength, I gain power.
    Through power, I gain victory.
    Through victory, my chains are broken.
    The Force shall set me free.

----
    Almost dead yesterday, maybe dead tomorrow, but alive, gloriously alive, today.
    ----
    I must not fear.
    Fear is the mind-killer.
    Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
    I will face my fear.
    I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
    And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
    Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.

• First MUD was Gemstone III in the late 90's. Then, a start up MUD called (I think) Talanor: The Lands of Light and Darkness, which now that I think of it had similarities to both GS3 and an IRE game. Followed by all the other Simutronics games. A few other MUDs sprinkled in. Eventually, I found Achaea somewhere around 2005, then Imperian, then up the chain until MKO. Since MKO's closing I've been passing time in GS4 and popping into Lusternia for a bit until Starmourn's release.