Skip to content

Results of Blue Sky Thinking About Cosmipiercers

Had this half-baked idea about cosmipiercers in my head this morning when I woke up, and I figured I'd share it.
Before that though, I would like to stress a few things:

I am not an expert on the finer points of game combat.
I am not a pvper by any stretch of the imagination.
This idea had really nothing to do with it beyond "I'd have liked to get into this back when I was in a faction, but when you hit the top/storage cap, it doesn't seem there is really any reason to do it anymore beyond emote-shiving other players." (Barring: I pvp for the sake of it.)
I am not a pvper by any stretch.

I tried to keep this idea more about engagement and less about the division of pvp/pve. No idea how well I succeeded.

A tiered approach

First tier ("Alpha powers"??) cosmipowers: Largely focused around PvE QoL skills with FEW pvp focused skills (mainly geared towards cache runs), mostly passive. Any active/on demand powers require item (crystals maybe?) to activate.

Second tier ("Lambda powers"??) cosmipowers: largely focused around cosmipiercer PvP, both for defending and attacking player-held cosmipiercers. Warping, disrupting, etc.

Reduce the number of cosmipiercers

There's too many cosmipiercers, and not enough reasons to hold more than whatever you need. Why not bring the number of cosmipiercers down to just four. The rest either go inert, phase out of realspace, fuse together, blow up, get towed into Y'saari space because [CLASSIFIED]... Anything to ramp up the mystery give an adequate RP reason for the reduction of these structures while reducing the number of them.

- Every faction has ONE cosmi attached to their faction, which enables them to maintain whatever first tier powers they have unlocked, maintained by feeding the cosmipiercer crystals on a regular basis or by feeding it resources. Resources being the weaker of the two options, naturally, but markedly safer to get at compared to caches.