Skip to content

Command List

I'm new to Starmourn and MUDs in general and am overwhelmed by the commands that I apparently need to know but don't.  For example, after my ship crashed, I went into the cantina, eventually got into a fight where I flipped over a table and took cover behind it. Do I remember how I did that? Nope.

So, is there a command list that all avatars have access to? I know some are skill based, right? Not those, but a list of commands that everyone can use.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Try HELP BASE COMMANDS, to start. There are more specific syntaxes, too. Try searching the HELP system. For example, in your table-flipping scenario, there is HELP PROPS.
    Mereas Eyrlock
    "They're excited, but poor."
    - Ilyos (August 2019)
  • Great, thanks!

Is there a help command for combat commands? 

BTW, is there a way that combat can be slowed down... or maybe made less verbose.  I can't read it all fast enough.
  • Combat commands are almost all class-specific and depend on what abilities you have unlocked. You can check AB for your skill list, AB <skill> for a list of abilities, and AB <skill> <ability> for the ability description. If you use Nexus it's faster to just click on underlined skills.

All player factions have guides for what abilities are good to use in combat. For Celestine it's FHELP BASICS and FHELP <your class>. I forgot what it was for others, it's been a while. You can also ask on the newbie channel.

CONFIG COMBATMESSAGES BRIEF will turn messages of player actions into something like: "You: Crackshot -> rockhopper". It won't work on NPC actions but you don't need to read the combat descriptions, they're just for flavor*. All you have to know is "enemy attacks, I lose HP". What you should pay attention to are messages saying you regained balance (which means you can act again) or that you can use your class-specific healing skill again.