Skip to content

If you were a newbie again...

What would you focus on?

(Asking for a friend... that friend is me.)
Vote for Starmourn! Don't hurt Poffy.

Comments

• When I was a newb I focused almost entirely on hunting with some occasional trips into space to gather materials to refine. Pretty much all of my RP was done over comms, rather than in person. Once I hit 75 I started working on hacking, casual exploration, more focused RP, things like that. I've got an alt now and I'm pretty much doing the same thing, except I really don't have any intention to put much (if any) effort into hacking/captaincy. That being said, this is all just my opinion and experience - if you prefer hacking/captaincy/RP then by all means, focus on that.
    I'm gone.
  • Bash to 75, think about the rest later. Perform every CD. That's about it.
  • Focusing on RP and IC activities that enhance that RP would be a decent way to go. That provides a decent feedback over time and if your story takes a different turn you can always hone yourself on other areas. No need to grind for something that you do not enjoy. 
  • Albion said:
    Bash to 75, think about the rest later. Perform every CD. That's about it.
    CD?
    Vote for Starmourn! Don't hurt Poffy.
  • edited August 2019
    Zhulkarn said:
    Focusing on RP and IC activities that enhance that RP would be a decent way to go. That provides a decent feedback over time and if your story takes a different turn you can always hone yourself on other areas. No need to grind for something that you do not enjoy. 
    This. It takes a particular kind of personality to do the monotonous grind that Starmourn (or most MUDs for that matter) requires to reach level cap and NOT get burned out in the process. And those people are already going to grind so you don't have to tell them that.