Skip to content

Newbie Here

Hi I’m contemplating rather or not I should jump in and make a character here with you all! Im thinking rather over not, but I have some questions! I played Achaea a few years back for a few years probably mostly from 07’-11’. I definitely collectively spent several hundred hours in game, but with no real goal and across many characters. I predominantly like Achaea for the role playing aspect but definitely enjoyed hunting and leveling etc. So I guess my main question is... Where do you start in this game? I’ll probably pick a race that looks cool, and a class that sounds neat. After that what should I do? Are there cities and factions etc?? Clans? Is this all redundant because the tutorial is solid? What should I expect? At this time is it worth it? Are people actually role playing thus far or is it mostly just people exploring the various systems from a gameplay standpoint? And advice, feedback, jokes, insults are welcome! Let me hear it 

Comments

• Hey - so I play in Scatterhome, and run a mercenary company (of my own making!) of some renown. I can't talk to the experience of other factions but roleplaying for me can be found in absolute spades and with no effort at all from me, at most any time of the day. There's a lot of bashing to be done, too. The biggest thing is that you have to be ready, able, and willing to make your own goals. You should pick up a race that looks cool, that fits your character concept... because races have absolutely no mechanical benefit here. You should also pick the class that looks most interesting to you, because other than fury, none of them have a drastic advantage over one another. 

There are three factions: Scatterhome, Song Dominion, and Celestine Ascendancy. Each has its own lore, but it's basically...

* Scatterhome is the space cowboys, unwilling to submit to any higher power. Think Firefly, if the Browncoats had broken off and took over their own asteroid belt instead of getting crushed.